Sunday Post #13: It’s Summer and I’m Broke

sunday post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Today is Sunday Post Day again, yay! I had a pretty uneventful week but I was able to finish reading some really awesome books. I am endlessly bored though, not that I find reading boring. It’s just I think I should do something else besides reading.

On the blog

Last night I went through my “Reviews To write” list and I found out I still have seventeen reviews to finish. Seventeen. And the list goes longer because I can finish a book faster than I can write a review. I am an incredibly moody reader and review writer. Sometimes I would only write a particular review three months after finishing a book. But don’t worry I have finished enough number of reviews for this week! Haha!

In my life

I am so depressed this weekend. I am not sure if I have mentioned this before but since it’s summer (at least in my country) I thought it was time to get a summer job. So last Monday I got a text message from one of the many shops I submitted my resume to, saying that I should visit one of their branches for a written exam and an interview. So after the interview they said they will either call or text me about the status of my application. But they never did. And here I was feeling like a responsible adult I am not because I will finally have my own job, earn my own money and be able to buy more books. But no, they had to shatter my dream. *sniffs*

Next week on the blog

  • POPCORN REVIEW: Hansel & Gretel
  • Top Ten Tuesday
  • REVIEW: 45 Pounds (More or Less) by K.A. Barson
  • REVIEW: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Just Finished Reading

mind games books keep me sane

Mind Games by Kiersten White

I am totally mind-blown by this novel! I love love love it! I highly recommend it to you guys! A review is coming soon.

30 thoughts on “Sunday Post #13: It’s Summer and I’m Broke

  1. Sorry about you not getting a job! I was in the same position not too long ago and thought no one liked me except for the wonderful bookish people, lol. 😦
    But 3 months after finishing a book??? I would have a hard time remembering all of the things that happened! o_o

  2. I have to let the book sit and gel in my mind for awhile before I can write a review, even if I loved it. Because then I just gush, and I’m not really a fan of all-gushing reviews. On top of that, I rarely find a book anymore that makes me WANT to gush

    • yeah, mee to. I have to be calm and collected before writing a review. i’m not a fan of the “omg this book is so greaaaaaat!!!!!!!!” kind of posts. 😀
      There are a lot of books out there that will really get your fangirl mode on you just have to find it 😉

  3. Mind Games has a cool cover, and it was excellent too? I may have to add it to my pile.

    Sorry you’re having trouble finding a summer job but don’t give up; things may still work out. 🙂 In the meantime you can work on those 17 reviews that need writing. Eeep!

  4. I wish I had seventeen reviews to write!! I only have the reviews from each book I read. I am really not ahead on reading and reviewing at all. Finding a job is a nightmare. Seriously! When I was a kid I always thought that my mom and dad were just handed jobs then I grew up! LOL! Good luck on the job hunt.

  5. My son (he is 18) has been trying to 2 years to find a part-time job in retail without success, it’s so frustrating and I think he has given up. When I tell him I saw a sign with a new vacancy in town, he tells me: there is no point, I will only be disappointed…. it’s had to keep motivated! Certainly the same here in SE England. Sometimes I think it’s just your luck 😦
    Still… enjoy your books and Have a great week and Happy Reading.
    My Sunday Post is here

  6. People have been complimenting Mind Games so much! I think I need to check it out too. 🙂 I’m sorry about the summer job issue – I really hope you’ll find something. Happy reading and have a great week! 🙂

  7. I’m sorry for the job, I hope more opportunities will come up. You have seventeen reviews in waiting ?! Really, I’m impressed. I hope next week will be better, enjoy the summer 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

