REVIEW: Hopeless (Hopeless #1) by Colleen Hoover

hopeless books keep me saneTitle: Hopeless (Hopeless #1)

Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance

Release Date: December 19th 2012

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

mythoughts

When I picked Hopeless I had no idea what to expect. Everyone was saying it’s a very heart-wrenching book and it is really popular among romance readers. My first impression with the book was that it was just a typical contemporary romance novel, nothing new about that. But I had no idea how emotionally exhausting this book is– in a good way.

I like Sky right from the start. She’s branded a slut in her school and people are mean to her. But she doesn’t let them get to her. She stands up to bullies. And I like that. She’s strong-willed and fierce and brave. I idolize her a lot.

The beginning of the story of how Sky first landed eyes on Holder was the typical boy-meets-girl, it’s almost cliche. But that’s fine, I let the cliche slide. What piqued my interest was how Holder reacted after meeting Sky. I am not going to reveal too much but let’s just say his reaction was peculiar.

The transition of their relationship from being just friends to more than friends was really fun to read. Their relationship is so cute and sweet. I wish I have a boyfriend like Holder. Honestly, I find Holder very swoon-worthy.

And then the ultimate twist to the story comes in. Turns out Holder has a huge secret he’s keeping from Sky. And this secret can turn her future upside down. It’s also the key to knowing who she really was and what traumatic things happened to her in the past, so traumatic that her mind blocked it all out.

When Sky learned this secret, her relationship with Holder was put to the test. How much can she trust her?

I really like how Hoover portrayed Sky and Holder’s relationship. I am a sucker for me-and-you-against-the-world kind of love story because it shows that love isn’t always rainbows and butterflies, behind the nice things lie its dark, chaotic side. And in order to stay together you have to face the challenges that will keep you apart. And in this novel, that challenge was portrayed very well. Holder stayed by Sky’s side through it all and that makes me love them so bad!

I just love this book to bits! Hoover did a fantastic job with the book. If you’re not afraid of contemporary novels that will surely leave you in tears, then this is the right book for you.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Hopeless (Hopeless #1) by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #25: What I Like/Dislike In Romance Novels | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

