REVIEW: The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus #4) by Rick Riordan

The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, #4)Title: The House of Hades

Author: Rick Riordan

Genre: YA Fantasy/ Mythology

Release Date: October 8th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy’s instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through the Gaea’s forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?

They have no choice. If the demigods don’t succeed, Gaea’s armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus.

mythoughts

I was and still am a huge fan of the Percy Jackson series. I cried myself to sleep after finishing The Last Olympian because I was so sad that the series ended. So when I found out that PJO is going to have a spin-off, I was so ecstatic about it.

Heroes of Olympus is the spin-off to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians, in this series the old characters in the PJO series are back and some new characters have been added too. Today I am going to review The House of Hades, the 4th book in the series.

After that earth-shattering, heart-attack inducing ending to the Mark of Athena, I was really anxious to know what would happen to Percy and the rest of his gang. I must say I really loved this book! Riordan’s trademark humor and witty characters never fail to crack me up.

‘That’s the third time I’ve had to replace that mast! You think they grow on trees?’

Nico frowned. ‘Masts are from trees.’

‘That’s not the point!’

Leo is my number one favorite. He is such a funny guy and I have a soft spot for guys like him. But of course, Percy will always be my first love. And speaking of Percy, let’s talk about Percy’s and Annabeth’s predicament in this book. Ugh. It was so heart-breaking but equally beautiful. I mean, it sucks that they are stuck in the pits of Tartarus but at least they have each other and their love for each other becomes stronger and stronger with every obstacle they face together.

He didn’t think much of fates and prophecies, but he did believe in one thing: Annabeth and he were supposed to be together. They hadn’t survived so much just to get killed now.

I also like how well the other characters develop over time. In the PJO series Nico was a complete mystery to me but I’m glad he’s given more time in the spotlight in this series because fans of PJO really love him. Piper is also a great example of great character development. I thought daughters of Aphrodite are only good with makeup and fashion but Piper proves it’s definitely not the case. I really love her kick-ass attitude. Who knew beauty and bravery go very well?

Reading and re-reading The House of Hades always gives me this warm, fuzzy feeling. I am so in love with this book. Sorry I just can’t help fangirling! The story is getting more and more excited as we are nearing the conclusion to series. I’m so excited for Blood of Olympus to come out.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus #4) by Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post #10: The Soda Incident | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

