REVIEW: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and ParkTitle: Eleanor and Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: February 26th 201

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, ELEANOR AND PARK is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.

mythoughts

Where do I begin? I’m at a loss for words. I didn’t expect the book to be this amazing. I heard the book was really romantic and beautifully written and being the hopeless romantic that I am, of course I picked it up.

Eleanor is the kind of girl that stands out in a crowd although not in a good way. Park thinks she dresses bizarrely. I also love the fact that Eleanor isn’t so perfect in the physical aspect. She’s not a skinny, pretty girl. Her hair is too red for everyone’s liking. She wears hand-me-down clothes that don’t suit her at all. And because of all her oddities she is constantly the target of everyone’s mean taunts and jokes.

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

Park is an introvert who loves music and comics. In the jungle that is high school he knew from early on that the only way to avoid people’s teasing is to blend in. He was invisible to everyone until he starts going out with Eleanor. But because he really likes her he doesn’t care what everyone thinks.

“He made her feel like more than the sum of her parts.”

The whole story started really great, I knew right from the first page that I’m hooked. I know that there is coarse language in the book but it doesn’t always mean this book is bad influence to teens. Eleanor grew up in a harsh and abusive environment but she is able to rise above that. This book gives us hope that we can rise above the crappy things in our life.

Eleanor and Park’s love story is so sweet and adorable and real and so profound and ugh I just love it! The love they have for each other is so strong and rare, and also a little sappy but I guarantee you you’ll love this!

I’m swooning over this book and it’s driving me crazy! I won’t reveal spoilers but the ending of the book is driving me nuts! And I cried so hard after reading the book because I was so overcome by emotions and I’m sad because the story ended. I’m always like that—I feel like I lost a dear friend after finishing a really great book.

So allow me to end this review with my favorite quote in the book:

I’m not even mine anymore, I’m yours, and what if you decide that you don’t want me? How could you want me like I want you?”

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #25: What I Like/Dislike In Romance Novels | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. Aw! This does sound great. The setting is the year before I was born, so it might be interesting to see how she represents the culture then. The late 80’s were so awesome. We all know that!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Post #10: The Soda Incident | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

