REVIEW: Digital Fortress by Dan Brown

Digital FortressTitle: Digital Fortress

Author: Dan Brown

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Release Date: 2004 by Corgi books (first published 1998)

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

When the NSA’s invincible code-breaking machine encounters a mysterious code it cannot break, the agency calls its head cryptographer, Susan Fletcher, a brilliant and beautiful mathematician. What she uncovers sends shock waves through the corridors of power. The NSA is being held hostage … not by guns or bombs, but by a code so ingeniously complex that if released it would cripple U.S. intelligence. Caught in an accelerating tempest of secrecy and lies, Susan Fletcher battles to save the agency she believes in. Betrayed on all sides, she finds herself fighting not only for her country but also for her life, and in the end, for the life of the man she loves.

mythoughts

Dan Brown is one of those authors that people really admire and love, but I think Digital Fortress is his least loved book by the readers. When I visited its Goodreads page I saw a lot of one-star reviews. I, on the other hand, liked the book. I am not really raving about it but I don’t think it’s terrible either.

I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again, I am not a fan of the sci-fi books but because this is a Dan Brown book and it seems to me everyone has read at least one Dan Brown book, I decided to read it.

I don’t know what to expect with the book, at first I was very skeptical about it. But as I read my way through, I realized that I quite like it. The mystery thriller aspect of the book was great. What I love about mystery thriller books is that you don’t know for sure who the real villain is until you finish the story. Brown sure knows how to thrill the readers.

However, the book scored low to me on the sci-fi aspect. I major in IT so I have a little background on algorithms, codes, hacking data and all the other techy stuff in the book. However, the kind of technology in the book seems really far-fetched to me and there are some aspect of the book that seems really questionable. Like for example, the NSA doesn’t have backup for their main databank? YOU HAVE THE WORLD’S TOP SECRET INFORMATION AND YOU DON’T BACK IT UP? What kind of IT guy are you? Seriously.

The kind of technology this book has on the period of time the book was set at was unbelievable to me. Oh well, I guess that’s fiction for you. But even though it’s fiction it’s supposed to be believable and I don’t think this book is believable, in terms of the techy stuff. But I’m judging the book by its capacity to thrill and capture the readers’ interest and the book did a great job in that area, hence the 4 stars.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Digital Fortress by Dan Brown

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post #10: The Soda Incident | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

