REVIEW: Confessions of an Almost Girlfriend (Confessions #2) by Louise Rozett

Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend (Confessions, #2)Title: Confessions of an Almost Girlfriend (Confessions #2)

Author: Louise Rozett

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: June 25th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Rose Zarelli has big plans for sophomore year—everything is going to be different. This year, she’s going to be the talented singer with the killer voice, the fabulous girl with the fashionista best friend, the brainiac who refuses to let Jamie Forta jerk her around…

…but if she’s not careful, she’s also going to be the sister who misses the signals, the daughter who can only think about her own pain, the “good girl” who finds herself in mid-scandal again (because no good deed goes unpunished) and possibly worst of all…the almost-girlfriend.

When all else fails, stop looking for love and go find yourself.

mythoughts

I really enjoyed the first book to the Confessions series, Confession of An Angry Girl and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy of Confessions of an Almost Girlfriend. What was so charming about the first book was that at first you may think it is just a cliché high school story but when you look closer, it’s not. It’s about the struggle of being a teenager, the difficulties you experience when everyone realizes you’re different. As a young adult myself, I find myself really drawn into the story and the struggle of the characters. Especially Rose. I love Rose to death and I feel sorry for her because almost everyone around her treats her like crap. I just want to hug her and protect her from all the evil of this world!

“Sometimes people help each other, and get messed up in each other’s business; sometimes we stay out of it and let people find the way themselves. It’s always right to offer help, but not all help is right.”

And then there’s Jamie. No matter how swoon-worthy he is, I still think he’s a douche. Why does he need to be so complicated? Ugh! WHY!?

“I did the wrong thing, and I lost him for real.
But did you do the wrong thing? Jamie thinks it was the wrong thing. But do you?
No. I don’t.
I didn’t do what Jamie would have wanted me to do, but that doesn’t mean it was wrong.”

And then there’s the ending which was so heartbreaking. This book is so frustrating, but in a good way. I feel really engaged in the story, like I am part of it. And for me, that’s always a good sign that a book is great. It’s important for the author to make the reader feel like they belong in the characters’ world.

I feel a really strong connection to Rose and the story stirs so much emotion in me. Oh the feels! I’m not usually into angsty YA books, but Rozett did a great job on this series. I’m pretty sure there will be a third book, we can’t be left hanging just like that.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “REVIEW: Confessions of an Almost Girlfriend (Confessions #2) by Louise Rozett

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post #10: The Soda Incident | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

