BOOK BLOGGER LOVE-A-THON: Welcome Post+ Interview

Love-a-thon Badge

Hello and welcome to my stop in the Book Blogger Love-a-thon hosted by Katelyn and Alexa. This is my first time in the Love-a-thon so I’m very excited. It will run from Fe 15-16, 9am to 9pm EST. And since I live in a different time zone, I got dizzy trying to figure out what time I’m going to post this but thanks to Google that’s all sorted out.

Today is gonna be the interview swap. This is just a short interview for you guys to get to know me more. I really enjoyed this interview and I hope you enjoy it too.

baa71-pinkbird

How did you come up with your blog name?

I can’t really remember. I really wanted to start a book blog but I was too busy with school and I couldn’t think of a creative name for my blog. And then one day I was doing something non-bookish related (I can’t exactly remember what I was doing that time) and it struck me, the name of my blog would be Books Keep Me Sane! But before making my own blog I googled “Books Keep Me Sane” to make sure nobody owns that blog name already and the rest as they say, is history.

What genre/subject matter do you read and review most on your blog?

Probably romance. Most of the books I read include romance in one way or another. Romance may not be the prevailing theme in a book but it’s always there. I don’t really know why I always end up with a book with romance in it.

Name the 3 books you’re excited for in 2014!

This is easy. Cress by Marissa Meyer which already came out last Feb 4. The conclusion to the Grisha Trilogy, Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. And the conclusion to the Heroes of Olympus series, The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan.

Where in the world are you blogging from?

I’m blogging for the country with more than 7,000 islands, known for its pristine beaches and friendly locals—Philippines!

Tell us — how did you get into blogging in the first place?

I started blogging at the age of twelve or thirteen. Reading has always been a part of my life, and with reading always comes writing. We’re lucky to live in the Age of the Internet and what better way to showcase my writing prowess (but let’s be honest, my early blogging days was about me bitchin’ about my sucky life. But hey, I was thirteen!) than to let the world know that hey Farzy has a blog and she can write!

But Books Keep Me Sane wasn’t established until May of 2013. Blogging about my life was fun but blogging about books is even more enjoyable. Probably because I have a boring and uninteresting life.

Apart from reading, what other hobbies/interests do you have?

I don’t really know… does sleeping count as a hobby? I just realized how monotonous my life is! I can’t think of any other hobby aside from reading. How sad.

If you were stuck on a deserted island, which books would you bring with you?

You didn’t specify how many books I could bring so I’m going to bring my whole collection. Who knows how long I’d be stuck there.

If you were stuck in some dangerous situation (like a fire, a sinking ship, a warzone), which book boy or girl would you want to come and save you?

Sherlock Holmes. Who doesn’t love a bloody brilliant detective? Okay so maybe he’s not the superhero type of character but I have faith he can save me from a dangerous situation. And  I want to marry his brain too!

You’re attending a party with your friends. Suddenly, the DJ changes the song and it’s YOUR song – what song would that be?

Oh man this is hard because I like a lot of songs but I’m going to have to say Pocketful of Sunshine, that song never fails to make me want to dance.

What 3 movies would you love to have your favorite author write into books, or vice versa?

I don’t watch movies that much so I’m just gonna list down two instead of three.

Titanic – Nicholas Sparks – Sparks is known for his tear-jerker novels and Titanic in itself is also a tear-jerker, let’s see how much more tears we can shed if we combine the two. LOL

500 Days of Summer – John Green – I love 500 Days of Summer, it’s my all-time favorite book and John Green is one of my favorite contemporary authors. At first I actually thought there was a 500 Days of Summer book but I was disappointed when I found out it is not. If this movie ever becomes a book, I am interested what twists Green can add to the already lovely storyline of this movie.

So there you have it. I hope you learn a thing or two about me. Are you participating in the Love-a-thon too? Leave me the link to your blog and I’ll gladly return the visit.

RSSContact UsGoodreadsTumblrTwitterInstagramBloglovin

 siggie

28 thoughts on “BOOK BLOGGER LOVE-A-THON: Welcome Post+ Interview

  1. I really enjoyed reading your interview! I totally get the whole romance thing — it always seems to end up in the books I read too! Also, Sherlock Holmes — that’s brilliant 🙂

  2. Ha! We all have to start somewhere with our blogs,eh? Thanks for letting us get to know you. I’m finding so many awesome book bloggers today.

    And I would have never thought of Sherlock Holmes! Nice one.

  3. Reading is the best possible hobby you can have! Name another one that can make you a Princess, Murderer, Alien or Shape-shifter! Name another one that can make you fall in love hundreds of times every year! Name on that can make you cry and laugh at the same time! You can’t, can you? 🙂

  4. I am so excited for Ruin and Rising!!!! I haven’t read Cinder yet, but hope to soon. It is one of those series that had so much hype so I kept putting it off, but I think it is time to finally jump in! Love that you love titanic– so do i!

  5. It’s clever that you first googled your name to make sure there was nobody else! I also can’t wait for Ruin & Rising ❤ Haha, just bringing your whole collection is a good idea. I thought about that too, but decided to bring it down after all. John Green and 500 days of summer, that's a perfect combination.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy

  6. Books Keep Me Sane is a fantastic name! Ruin and Rising is one of my most anticipated books of the year, I seriously CANNOT wait to read it. Mostly because I need more Sturmhond in my life. Sleeping totally counts as a hobby, I’ve been doing that for years and will never get bored. Did you HAVE to mention Pocketful of Sunshine? I’m going to have it stuck in my head all day now. *dances*

    • Aww thank you so much!
      I need more Sturmhond in my life too! Gosh that boy really captured our hearts! Pocketful of Sunshine always makes me wanna dance that’s why I love that song *does a weird shimmy dance*

    • I totally cried myself to sleep after reading The Last Olympian because it was totally depressing that my favorite series has ended, I have a feeling I will also ugly-cry when this series ends.

  7. FELLOW FILIPINA FOR THE WIN! ❤ I always, always, ALWAYS get excited when I "meet" Filipinos who blog about books too. So YAY, I AM HAPPY TO MEET YOU!

    Ahem. Okay, I shall regain (a wee bit of) my composure now.

    Romance is always a good thing, in my book. Do you read romance books? Or is it more likely you'll read YA with romance in it? I read both, so I'm curious.

    Also, you and I must have similar taste in books because I LOVED Cress, and can't wait for Ruin & Rising and Blood of Olympus either! AND when I read Pocketful of Sunshine, I immediately thought of Easy A — I WANT THAT CARD.

    • HIII! Omg glad to “meet” a fellow Filipina too! 😀
      I read romance books! I love them! Romance in YA is okay for me, I don’t really mind it 😀
      OMG high five! I haven’t read Cress though but I heard it’s totally amazing and I love the previous books in the Lunar Chronicles so I think it’s gonna be good.
      I love Easy A! ❤ I want that card too! 😀

  8. The Philippines has more than 7000 islands?! There’s my interesting face of the day!

    I can’t believe I forgot about Ruin & Rising – did you see the cover?! <333

    Also, I love your header character!

    • Yup 🙂 There’s even a part of the Philippines called “Hundred Islands” where you can visit tiny islands, so tiny you can’t live there! 😀 I’ve seen the cover and omg it is so fab! Is it June yet? I can’t wait to have my hands on a copy of that book ❤
      Aww thanks so much!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

