Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone GirlTitle: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Genre: Suspense, Thriller

Release Date: May 24th 2012

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media–as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents–the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter–but is he really a killer?
As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

mythoughts

I have the habit to sometimes not read the blurb of the book I’m reading. Sometimes I guess the story based on the title of the book. What I expected was very different from the real story. It surprised me, in a good way.

Nick and Amy looks like a perfect couple on the outside but tension is brewing between them on the inside. On the day of their 5th-year anniversary, Amy disappears. And Nick doesn’t behave like a worried husband should be. Does Nick have anything to do with his wife’s disappearance?

I don’t know what I expect with this novel but this wasn’t what I thought it would be. I like the book as a whole but the first half was torture to read. It was dragging and boring. So much attention focused on so tiny details. The exciting parts don’t come after the second half of the book but when the exciting parts come, the book is unputdownable.

Nick, the husband is a great husband to Amy, or so that’s what he likes everyone to think.

I often don’t say things out loud, even when I should. I contain and I compartmentalize to a disturbing degree: In my belly-basement are hundreds of bottles of rage, despair, fear, but you’d never guess from looking at me.

But later on in the story we find out that he is not the good husband everyone thinks he is.

And then there’s Amy, sweet, innocent Amy. Men like her, women want to be like her. But she may not be so sweet and innocent after all. If only they knew how cunning, cold, vengeful and manipulative she is.

I’m too self-conscious otherwise. I feel myself trying to be charming, and then I realize I’m obviously trying to be charming, and then I try to be even more charming to make up for the fake charm, and then I’ve basically turned into Liza Minnelli: I’m dancing in tights and sequins, begging you to love me.

The story is told in Amy’s and Nick’s point of view. You will find their varying views of the things around them. I think it is great that it is told in two points of view because then we can have a more in-depth glimpse of the world of Gone Girl.

Even though the first part of the book was a little boring and dragging for me, I really like the book as a whole. It is a good book but not everyone may like the book, nevertheless it was good.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Oh man, I LOVED this book! I thought the beginning really captured their relationship and where they were each coming from, and I thought that after what happens throughout the book, the ending made sense! I read this monster of a book in three days and couldn’t put it down! You should also check out her book Sharp Objects, also very eerie and with a twist!

    • I think not all readers can appreciate the story but to those who do, i think they find it brilliantly written. I think it is still worth a try, maybe your friend did not like it and maybe you would 🙂

  2. One of my favorite books of last year. I enjoyed the beginning a bit more really. I thought it was a good way of showing Nick and Amy’s view points regarding their marriage. The second half and the twist was not my favorite.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

