Top Ten Tuesday #2: “New To Me” Authors of 2013

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/original feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Click the link to go to their site to see the original list. This week’s topic is Top Ten books on my Winter TBR.

I’m proud to say that there are a lot of authors whose books I’ve read this year but I find it hard to narrow it down to just ten because there are just so many great authors out there.

The following authors are listed in no particular order.

  1. Nicholas Sparks – I admit to being a hopeless romantic but shockingly, I haven’t read any of Spark’s books until this year. I don’t know why I was so hesitant to read his books, probably because I heard from my friends and from watching the movie adaptations of his books that his novels can make you a bundle of emotional mess and yes, The Best of Me made me a total wreck.
  2. Leigh Bardugo – The Grisha Trilogy!!!!!!!!! Multiple exclamation marks for emphasis on how great The Grisha Trilogy is. Ugh. Alina. Mal. The Darkling. AAAHH. Okay, Farzy calm the fudge down.
  3. Emma Chase – 2013 is the year I became aware of the genre New Adult. Before 2013– specifically before book blogging, I didn’t realize 80% of the books I read is YA. This year I read many NA books and Chase’s Tangled is one of the best NA books out there.
  4. John Green – Before establishing Books Keep Me Sane I was blogging–or rather reblogging– on Tumblr 24/7 and Green’s books are repeatedly quoted in different blogs and I got intrigued by his books so I googled him. And then I found out about his vlogs and I instantly like him so I read The Fault in Our Stars and the emotional scars that book has inflicted on me hasn’t healed yet. *cue bursting in tears here*
  5. Elle Casey – Shine Not Burn was the first novel by Casey that I read it was hilarious with a capital H. I just love love love the characters Casey writes. And she’s a very versatile writer too, she writes NA, YA, Adult and Sci-Fi.
  6. Veronica Roth – Ahh Divergent. Everyone is going loco over that trilogy. Let’s give Roth a huge group hug for writing the Divergent trilogy shall we? And she’s a Sherlockian too so another group hug for that.
  7. Dan Brown – Brown’s writing career started even before I was born. He’s a very popular author and everyone has heard of him, even non-bookish people. So why did it take me such a long time to read the works of an author as popular as him? I was intimidated. I thought his novels are too brilliant for my minuscule mind. Seriously, I get intimidated by authors with so many best-sellers like Nicholas Sparks, Sidney Sheldon, Danielle Steele, Dan Brown, Jude Deveraux etc etc. that I avoid reading their books.
  8. Stieg Larsson – Crime fiction is not really my thing but surprisingly, I really loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, so much so that I even watched both Hollywood and Swedish movie adaptation of the novel. I just find it sad that Larsson passed away before he can see how much success his novels achieved.
  9. Suzanne Collins – You didn’t think I would leave out Collins in my 2013 New To Me Authors list, did you? Hunger Games Trilogy is absolutely divine! I don’t know why it took me so long to pick up and start reading the trilogy. Seriously, what is wrong with me?
  10. Karen Amanda Hooper – Last but not the least is Karen Amanda Hopper whose Kindrily series I really love! I love the whole soul mate idea for her books. It’s a must-read!

So who made it to your 2013 New To Me Authors list? Link up in the comment section! 😉

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #2: “New To Me” Authors of 2013

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post #5: ‘Tis the Season to Celebrate | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. I’m glad you finally got to read the AMAZING Hunger Games, I definitely love Collins for that! Also adored Divergent. and John Green. I still really, really want to read the Grisha series, it looks amazing and I keep hearing so many great things. New BL follower 🙂 My TTT.

  3. I can’t wait to read The Fault In Our Stars, I am waiting so badly to read this book! A classmate of mine had the book and I had flipped to a random page to read it, and just from reading that page I fell in love with that book. Too bad my local library doesn’t have it, and I had to request the book from another library. Still waiting for it to arrive.

  4. If I had read Shadow and Bone this year then she definitely would have been on this list too! I have yet to get around to reading John Green though. Some day. Great picks! 🙂

  5. GREAT list! How did you not read Hunger Games before now? I figured peer pressure had just about gotten to everybody by now. Then again, I’ve heard of readers just now getting to Harry Potter so…makes sense, I suppose. Glad you’re a fan! Leigh made my list today too. Somehow I missed S&B last year, but I’m really glad I’m all caught up on the series now!

    Mary @ Mary Had a Little Book Blog
    My TTT

    • I did notice S&B gaining popularity last year but I didn’t pay attention to it at first but now I regret not reading it sooner. I’m SO excited for Ruin and Rising coming this 2014 :))

  6. We have a few of the same authors on our list and you have a few I have yet to read but I have their books in my TBR pile. I read the first book of the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series and enjoyed but didn’t read the other books. I have no idea that Stieg Larsson passed away, that’s so sad! I have been reading Nicholas Sparks since I saw A Walk to Remember in high school, he’s a love story genius, if you haven’t read The Wedding you should! It’s not as well known as some of his other books but it’s beautiful! Have tissues ready! Great picks!!!!

  7. I don’t love Dan Brown or Nicholas Sparks, but I have read some of their work. I did love Suzanne Collins, she really hit a new mark in the book world when she started Hunger Games! Great list, and LOVE that photo!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

