Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1) by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn, #1)Title: Burn for Burn

Author: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: September 18th, 2012

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Postcard-perfect Jar Island is the kind of place where nobody locks their doors at night, where parents can sleep easy, knowing their daughters are tucked away safe and sound in their beds.

But bad things can happen, even to good girls . . . and sometimes, the only way to make things right is to do something wrong.

Lillia used to trust boys, but not anymore. Not after what happened this summer. And she’ll do whatever it takes to protect her little sister from the same fate.

Kat is over the rumors, the insults, the cruel jokes made at her expense. It all goes back to one person–her ex-best friend. Someone needs to teach her a lesson, and, with Lillia and Mary behind her, Kat feels up to the task.

Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. Now that she’s got friends who have her back, he’s going to be in big trouble.

Three very different girls who come together to make things right. Will they go too far?

mythoughts

I was randomly surfing Goodreads when I came upon this book. The title burn for Burn instantly reminded me of the saying “an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth”. The title intrigued me so I read the blurb. My first impression of the book is that the plot is somehow the same with Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl. I was hesitant to read it at first. I kept thinking, “Will this be a good novel?” There’s only one way to find out—read the novel. And read I did.

Burn for Burn is a story of three girls, Lillia, Mary and Kat. They want to seek revenge to the people who they think have wronged them. I find the main storyline too cliché. How many novels have had the same plot? But nevertheless I kept my mind open to the possibility that this won’t get too cliché and predictable as other novels.

This is Karma. I’m a bitch. Can you think of anyone who deserves a bitch slap?

Lillia, Mary and Kat each have very distinct personalities. Lillia is the popular, rich girl that everyone thinks is pretty and innocent and perfect. Mary is the emotionally-wreaked transfer student who has a dark past she doesn’t want to run away from anymore. And Kat is the headstrong, feisty chick who’s always capable of uttering the most vulgar words. I love how they are very different with each other and each of them is really intriguing in their own way.

I was really skeptical of the book at first. Would it measure up to my expectations? As I read it I find it okay, not really great but okay. But then the story kinds of grow on you and in no time I was engrossed with the book. I just think that the book was “tamer” than I expected. I expected there will be murder, blackmail or kidnapping or some crazy stuff like those things but there wasn’t. Still, I find the book good.

There’s only one thing I do not like about the book and that’s the supernatural element in it. I think the story will be more believable if there’s no supernatural element to it. But nevertheless I really like it and it definitely piqued my curiosity. I can’t wait to read the second book to the series—Fire with Fire.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1) by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

  1. I’ve tried listening to this one on audio, but I just couldn’t keep up. It was difficult to tell apart the characters and the situations. So I just gave up. I might just have to get this series in hard copy and read them that way. I’ve heard amazing things, but the audio version just wasn’t for me.

    Lisa
    http://www.turningpages94.blogspot.com

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post #4: Christmas Vacation Kick-off | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

