#DreamyDecDays Rea-a-thon Day 5: Author Feature, Daily Challenge,Updates , Giveaways

ddd-bannerWelcome to the 5th day of the read-a-thon. Also don’t forget in the last day (Dec 7) there will be a twitter chat with loooots of prizes! just hastag your tweets #DreamyDecDays!

ddd-tellulah-darling

For today’s author feature, we will be looking inside Tellulah Darling’s head. Not literally. And we also have an excerpt from My Date from Hell, book 2 in The Blooming Goddess Trilogy. Plus, there’s a GIVEAWAY below~ Also make sure to check out Always Lost in Books for an author feature with L.M. Augustine.

red

Inside Tellulahʼs head: The writing of The Blooming Goddess Trilogy

I am obsessed with the naming of things. Characters, projects, I can spend ages finding just the perfect fit. And while that may sound like procrastination, itʼs super important procrastination. Since Iʼm deep into an introspective headspace for the final book in my YA romantic comedy/Greek mythology series, The Blooming Goddess Trilogy, I thought Iʼd share the thinking behind my book titles in this trilogy.

The one thing I knew going in was that this was the story of an underachieving girl who discovers that she is Persephone, Goddess of Spring. When it came time to name this girl, Sophie Bloom just immediately popped into my head. Sophie as the human deriva- tive of Persephone, and Bloom both for spring and for her journey. Because, what was clear to me, was that each book thematically had a flowering-esque cycle to it.

Book one, My Ex From Hell, dealt thematically with the idea of “emerge.” I remember being sixteen and waiting for the day my “real” life would start. But is there really any event that allows that to happen? Once I got into university, maybe Iʼd wait for my real job? Or the love of my life, or children, or success, or … You get the picture. So I wanted to explore this idea that hereʼs this girl, waiting, and suddenly, with the discovery that she is the Goddess of Spring and key to humanityʼs survival, there can be no more waiting. Life has just very gotten real. And should be real for every moment we live it.

To get all obvious here, Sophie is the bud emerging from the sleep of her life. However, I chose to start her journey on Halloween and not in spring. To me, spring is the height of Sophieʼs powers and abilities. Therefore, I wanted to start her at the furthest point from spring and gradually build her up to that point.

Itʼs important to remember as well, that this entire trilogy is a romantic comedy. Again, then, for the relationship between Sophie and Kai, the idea of “emerge” is in place. Itʼs the classic “meet cute” of our couple.

Book two, My Date From Hell, moves Sophieʼs journey along to the idea of “grow.” Without any spoilers, Sophie grows in terms of her abilities and her sense of self. And for the romance? See how the titles move from My Ex From Hell to My Date From Hell? Progress/growth for Sophie and Kai as well.

The final book in the trilogy is called My Life From Hell. This, thematically, is the “bloom” stage. Sophie finally, and in all ways, will come into her fabulous self. “But Tellulah,” you protest, “youʼve taken the relationship element out of the title.” I donʼt know about any of you, but when I was teenager, my idea of love was all-consuming. Overwhelming. A girl could get lost in that vision. And maybe, just maybe, thatʼs going to be part of Sophieʼs journey as well. Learning that romantic love is only one (albeit important) part of life.

Or maybe Iʼm just going to kill Kai. heh heh

Anyhoo, all that to say, that if you take the emerge/grow/bloom idea as a whole, it brings us back to why this is The Blooming Goddess Trilogy. And also, a bit cheekily, I also liked the Brit slang aspect of “blooming.”

There you have it. Questions? Thoughts? Discuss.

Thanks for having me today! 🙂

Tellulah

red

tellulah darlingTellulah Darling
noun
1) YA romantic comedy author because her first kiss sucked and she’s compensating.
2) Alter ego of former screenwriter.
3) Sassy minx.

Geeks out over: cool tech.
Squees for: great storytelling.
Delights in: fabulous conversation.
Writes about: where love meets comedy. Awkwardness ensues.

Tellulah Darling is a firm believer that some of the best stories happen when love meets comedy. Which is why she has so much fun writing young adult romantic comedy novels. Her tales span contemporary, teen fantasy romance, and YA Greek mythology, and range from stand alone books to series. For Tellulah, teen romance is the most passionate, intense, and awkward there is – comedy gold. Plus smart, mouthy, teen girls rock.

Sassy girls. Swoony boys. What could go wrong?

Check her out at her: SiteTwitterFacebookPinterestGoodreads

Her Books:

15720761 15749326 17305421

red

my date from hell

My Date From Hell (The Blooming Goddess Trilogy #2)
Check it out at: Goodreads
Purchase at: AmazonB&NChaptersiTunesKobo

Sophie Bloom’s junior year has been a bit of a train wreck. After the world’s greatest kiss re-awakened Sophie’s true identity as Persephone (Goddess of Spring and Savior of Humanity), she fought her dragon-lady guidance counselor to the death, navigated mean girl Bethany’s bitchy troublemaking, and dealt with the betrayal of her backstabbing ex, Kai (sexy Prince of Darkness). You’d think a girl could catch a break.
Yeah, right.
With Zeus stepping things up, it’s vital that Sophie retrieve Persephone’s memories and discover the location of the ritual to stop Zeus and Hades. So when Aphrodite strikes a deal that can unlock Sophie’s pre-mortal past, what choice does the teen goddess have but to accept?
The mission: stop media mogul Hermes from turning Bethany into a global mega-celebrity. The catch? Aphrodite partners Sophie and Kai to work together … and treat this suicide mission as a date. Which could work out for Sophie’s plan to force Kai to admit his feelings for her–if she doesn’t kill him first.
Add to that the fact that BFF Theo’s love life and other BFF Hannah’s actual life are in Sophie’s hands, and suddenly being a teenager—even a godlike one—seems a bit like … well, hell. Whatever happened to dinner and a movie?
The YA romantic comedy/Greek mythology fireworks continue to fly inMy Date From Hell. Love meets comedy with a whole lot of sass in book two of this teen fantasy romance series. Breaking up is easy; dating is deadly.

MY DATE FROM HELL: BOOK EXCERPT

A lone figure stood awaiting my arrival.

Take the natural snobbiness of your everyday hipster, compound it by the regular arrogance of guys in their mid-twenties, and magnify it by infinity thanks to that whole god factor. You’d start to come close to the waves of disdain that just naturally rolled off this dude. The Eau de Smarm he exuded ensured that I wasn’t going to be cozying up to him any time soon.

It may have seemed like his denim shirt, worn unbuttoned over a white wife beater and skinny jeans had been picked up directly off of the floor that morning, but no. From the top of his rakish fedora sitting on his bright red- dyed hair to his pink socks and white vintage Keds, Hephaestus was calculated cool.

And weirdly cute, but I wasn’t going to give him that.

Not even the cane he sported, due to his left foot being twisted inwards could detract from his projecting an overall “don’t even bother reaching for my greatness” status. If anything, the cane was a sleek, black, way cool accessory. “Hephaestus, I presume.”

He crossed his arms. “It’s Festos. And you better have a damn good reason for showing up here with that password, honeybunch.”

“Theo sent me. Prometheus,” I amended, since I wasn’t sure if he knew Theo’s human name.

Given the double take I received, I guess he did.

“I don’t believe you,” he said flatly.

“I swear. He thought you could help break a memory spell.”

“Too bad. I’m busy.”

I took a step forward, my hand up to keep him from ordering me out. “Please. I don’t think he would have sent me unless he believed you were truly the one person who could help.”

Festos considered me for a second, then rolled his eyes. “Lovely. You’re her. Did Prometheus mention any type of payment for my services?”

“His undying thanks?”

Festos looked a bit too hopeful at that. You know, if you looked past the “couldn’t care less” vibe.

“Not really,” I amended. “But you’re the only god he’s ever mentioned in a remotely respectful way.”

“Wow. Such flattery.” He sighed and waved me toward the machine in the middle of the room. “Get on.”

I hesitated.

He limped over to the contraption. “You want it undone or not? Lose the pillow you’re wearing and move.”

I tossed my puffy coat onto one of the sofas. Then glanced outside. I couldn’t help it. I was worried the minions had come back.

“We’re warded up,” Festos said and flicked a switch.

The machine came to life in a roar of sound.

I bet you a bajillion dollars that if you made a list of all the ways you might remove a memory suppression spell, no matter how weird you got, none of the items would include being hooked up to one of those kinda grungy, video arcade dance machines and trying desperately to keep up with the patterns whipping past.

I win, right?

red

ddd-giveaway

Tellulah Darling is giving away an ebook of My Date From Hell. This giveaway is open to everyone, even non-participants of the read-a-thon~

red

ddd-updates

I am still reading Beastly but I hope to finish it today so that I can read another book tomorrow.

Beastly

I just hate how busy I am with college stuff. I hate it when life interferes with my reading LOL don’t we all?

I think I’m going to read The Kite Runner or Bright Shiny Morning after this one but that’s still tentative. I have the habit to change what I’m going to read at the last minute. I might even read something not included in my read-a-thon goals. Is that allowed? Well since I’m one of the hosts and I don’t remember ever writing a rule against reading a book that’s not included in the read-a-thon goal post then I think it is allowed. LOL. I am so changeable, it’s a curse!

The Kite RunnerBright Shiny Morning

For today’s participation post, we’d like to simply know how you’re doing~ You can tell us anything

What I did:

What I read:

What I liked/loved:

Leave us a link~ It will be counted in the drawing of the Grand Prize.


red

ddd-spine-poetry
Hurrah! It’s the 5th day. Today’s Dreamy December Days Daily Challenge is a read-a-thon favorite – Spine Poetry. If you don’t know how it works this is what you need to do: Make a poem using the title of the books you own. It can be about anything you want and it can be as long as you want it. Just have some fun~
As always, participating in at least one challenge will qualify you to join the Grand Prize giveaway at the end of the read-a-thon, and each challenge has one random winner so make sure to join. Link up on the Challenge linky below, each challenge linky will be open for two days to give everyone a chance to participate in the read-a-thon. Tweet your read-a-thon posts/progress using #DreamyDecDays.

Sponsored by:
• L.M. Augustine, Erica Crouch, Tellulah Darling, Kate Evangelista, Nikki Godwin, Rachel Harris, Staci Hart, A.G. Howard, David Lomax, Angela McPherson, Lea Nolan, Kelly Oram, Lissa Price, Jennifer E. Smith, Laura Thalassa



Here’s mine:
IMG_1457Well, it doesn’t make much sense but I tried my best LOL.

11 thoughts on “#DreamyDecDays Rea-a-thon Day 5: Author Feature, Daily Challenge,Updates , Giveaways

  1. Pingback: #DreamyDecDays RaT Wrap-Up | Always Lost In Books

  2. Pingback: Dreamy December Days Read-a-thon: Day #5 ← Books and Bindings

  3. Pingback: Dreamy December Days Read-a-thon: Day 5 | Colline's Blog

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

