#DreamyDecDays Rea-a-thon Day 2: Author Feature, Daily Challenge,Updates , Giveaways

ddd-banner

ddd-rachel-harris

For today’s author feature, Rachel Harris has given us a wonderful opportunity to look into My Not So Super Sweet Life, the third book in the My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century series! If you haven’t read the books, you should surely check them out. There’s also a GIVEAWAY below~ Make sure to also check out Always Lost in Books for an author feature with David Lomax!

red

Unedited Excerpt in Lucas’ POV:

My protective vibe gets a shot of adrenalin as we make our way to where I parked. Security succeeded in keeping the paparazzi off her property, but photographers surge the gate as we walk. A frenzy of camera clicks and questions follow each step we take.

“Are you going to see your mom?”

“What’s the big secret?”

“Are you the maid of honor?”

“Have you met Kate Lyons?”

And my personal favorite: “You’re just like your mom. Who’s the boy toy?”

Through them all, Cat’s mask of calm, cool, collectedness never fails. I hate that look. It took me months to break through, and seeing it return is like a messed up omen. I practically growl as a thrum of energy shoots through me. Soccer practice and my three-mile run earlier wore me the hell out—but right now, that feels like a lifetime ago. I help her get in the car and then jog around the front, slamming my door seconds later. My knuckles turn white from my grip on the wheel and I’m shaking from unexpended rage. These people are taking a moment that is so personal, so real, for the girl I’m falling for, and throwing it back in her face like it’s entertainment.

If they hurt her—if that woman hurts her—I can’t be held responsible for my actions.

Cat’s hand curls around my clenched fist and says, “I’m okay.”

Her voice is soft, like she’s talking me down off a ledge. My job today is to protect her, to take care of her, and yet somehow the roles got reversed. Releasing a breath, I look at her from the corner of my eye and flip my hand around so I can lift hers to my mouth. “You’re amazing, you know that?”

A small smile plays on her lips. I put it there. A thrill of satisfaction clenches my chest, along with the feelings I have for this girl. They grow deeper every day. The anger, the adrenalin, they dissipate as we both take a breath and stare at each other. For a brief moment, it’s just the two of us locked away in a bubble surrounded by chaos.

Then I press a kiss against her fingertips, inhale the scent of rose, and set her hand on my thigh. We need to get going before the paparazzi ruin everything again. I start the engine and ask, “Where to?”

“Just drive,” she says, lowering the visor to hide her face. “Take a right at the stop sign, and I’ll lead you from there.”

Nodding, I glance in the rearview mirror at the scum waiting for a shot. The gate slowly opens, and security steps in to prevent a mob attack. My stomach knots in disgust as I reverse.

The circle begins closing in the second I’m back on Roxbury Drive. Screw what I said about not causing a scene. Revving my fine-tuned engine, I jerk forward like I’m gonna run them over, and chuckle when they jump back in fear. I’d never really do it, but they don’t know that. And watching them cower for once feels damn good.

Hearing Cat laugh—a free, lighthearted sound that’s worlds away from the haunted girl of a few minutes ago—feels even better.

Smiling for the cameras, hoping they can read the implied “F-you” in my eyes, I drive through the space my stunt provided and wave goodbye.

red

rachel harrisRachel Harris grew up in New Orleans, watching soap operas with her grandmother, and staying up late sneak-reading her mama’s romance novels. Today, she still stays up late reading romances, only now she does so openly.
A Cajun cowgirl now living in Houston, she firmly believes life’s problems can be solved with a hot, sugar-coated beignet or a thick slice of king cake, and that screaming at strangers for cheap, plastic beads is acceptable behavior in certain situations.
She homeschools her two beautiful girls and watches countless hours of Food Network and reality television with her amazing husband. She writes young adult, new adult, and adult Fun, Flirty Escapes, and LOVES talking with readers!
Check her out on her: SiteTwitterFacebook GoodreadsTumblr
Her Books:
13586321 15714722 taste the heat seven day fiance

red

ddd-giveaway

Rachel Harris is giving an Amazon or B&N ebook of A Tale of Two Centuries or $5GC to TBD. This giveaway is open to anyone, even non-participants of the read-a-thon.

red
ddd-updates

 

It’s been a hell of a day yesterday. I was so busy that I didn’t have time to do much reading. My original plan was to finish at least one book a day but right now I’m still at page 82 of Ten Things We Did. I really really hope I can finish this book soon, though. After Ten Things We Did, I will read Ghost Girl: Lovesick next.

I’m loving Ten Things We Did. There’s something fishy about Noah, though. But of course I don’t want to reveal spoilers! Haha~

For today’s participation post, we’d like to simply know how you’re doing~ You can tell us anything

What I did:

What I read:

What I liked/loved:

Leave us a link~ It will be counted in the drawing of the Grand Prize.

And also, there will be a twitter chat this Wednesday and another on the last day of the read-a-thon (December 7). Be sure to use #DreamyDecDays and there will lots of awesome prizes too so be there!

red

ddd-dreamy-destinations
Welcome to Day 2! Today’s Dreamy December Days Daily Challenge is called Dreamy Destinations. It’s pretty simple, all you have to do is tell us which place/s you want to go for the holidays. It could be a real place or a fictional one (i.e. Hogwarts at Christmas). If it’s a fictional place be sure to add a little book reference. You can add pictures if you like.
As always, participating in at least one challenge will qualify you to join the Grand Prize giveaway at the end of the read-a-thon, and each challenge has one random winner so make sure to join. Link up on the Challenge linky below, each challenge linky will be open for two days to give everyone a chance to participate in the read-a-thon. Tweet your read-a-thon posts/progress using #DreamyDecDays.



Sponsored by:
L.M. Augustine, Erica Crouch, Tellulah Darling, Kate Evangelista, Nikki Godwin, Rachel Harris, Staci Hart, A.G. Howard, David Lomax, Angela McPherson, Lea Nolan, Kelly Oram, Lissa Price, Jennifer E. Smith, Laura Thalassa

Hogwarts at Christmas.
I would love to go to Hogwarts at Christmas. Walking down the corridor of Hogwarts on Christmas Day or sipping butter beer in the common room sounds really awesome. And of course there’s making snow angels and snowball fights that I’d really love to try. I live in a tropical country so I’ve never experienced winter before.


London
The British people fascinate me, from their accent to their culture. I also want to see the Big Ben and ride the London Eye. And what better place to visit than the setting of some of my favorite classic books?


Paris
Who doesn’t want to go on aa glamorous trip to Paris? It is the city of love after all. My best friend, Queenie, and I have always dreamed of visiting this wonderful place. Of course we want to visit the iconic Eiffel Tower too!

16 thoughts on “#DreamyDecDays Rea-a-thon Day 2: Author Feature, Daily Challenge,Updates , Giveaways

  1. Pingback: #DreamyDecDays RaT Wrap-Up | Always Lost In Books

  2. Pingback: Dreamy December Days Read-a-thon: Day #2 ← Books and Bindings

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

