Pretty Little Lies by Jennifer Miller

Pretty Little Lies (Pretty Little Lies, #1)Title: Pretty Little Lies

Author: Jennifer Miller

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: June 12th 2013

Source: bought

Format: ebook

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

A little lie can change the course of everything. . .

Like every other eighteen-year-old in love, Olivia has dreams of spending forever with the love of her life. Luke is all she’s ever wanted – until she overhears something she was never meant to. In a matter of seconds, Olivia’s heart is shattered. Olivia handles it the only way she knows how – she runs- leaving behind her family, friends and the boy she loves.

Seeking comfort and an escape, Olivia finds it in resident bad boy Deacon. He’s everything Luke isn’t – and that’s fine with Olivia.

Now, seven years later, Olivia is older, wiser and headed back to Chicago looking forward to a fresh start and reconnecting with her best friend Pyper. What she doesn’t expect, is to come face to face with the boy she left behind and discover that even though she may have left, her feelings for him didn’t.

Can Olivia put aside the pain in her heart and trust Luke? Will the ties to her past ever let her go, or will she continue to let her life be affected by pretty little lies?

mythoughts

It is always nice to read a romance novel because it stirs so much emotion in you. It can make you feel giddy, happy, outrageous, crazy, blissful, bold and the list goes on. My point is, it always makes you feel like you are part of the story—you never feel out of place—because when it comes to matters of the heart, everyone can relate. And that’s exactly why I love this book so much.

Olivia is divorced at twenty-five, single and just another statistic to add to the divorce rate. And she needs turn her life around and start from square one now that she is once again alone and miserable. Right from the start of the story, Olivia caught my heart because I’m also going through the same thing right now. Piecing back your heart and moving on is always painful and it’s not easy.

I admire Olivia for being such a strong and resilient woman despite the things she’s been through. My heart really goes out to her because figuring yourself out after a divorce is no easy task and she has pushed through that hardship. She’s the perfect example of a headstrong woman—one that is capable of taking care of herself. I also love how she bitch-slapped that whore! You go, Olivia! (You’ll know what I’m talking about when you read the book!)

Pyper is also a very lovable character. She is Olivia’s best friend and after Olivia’s divorce, she went back to her hometown to live with Pyper. Pyper is a very lively and vivacious character. And she’s super funny too! If I had to choose a book bestie, I’d totally pick her!

If you happen to be a hopeless romantic who’s also a fashionista, you would totally love this book. At the beginning of every chapter there’s a fashion tip that’s very helpful for all the lady readers out there. I, myself have picked up a few helpful tips. The author always describes what the main characters wear from how they style their hair to what shoes they are wearing. The fusion of romance and fashion in this book is fantastic and I love it!

The storyline is bit a predictable but it was written and presented in such a way that you would not mind if the story is a bit cliché because of all the great elements in the book—the lovable and memorable characters, the witty lines, the fusion of fashion and romance, the alpha female heroine. Everything was just wow!

Although the storyline is a bit predictable, the ending was a little unexpected for me. When I finished the book I was like, “THAT’S IT!? I need more! I need the sequel. Now!” I’m not so sure if I love or hate the ending of the book. For me, the best part of the story was right before the end but then it was cut off just like that. I want to know how the story would continue and that’s why I am so excited for the sequel. I can’t wait!

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Pretty Little Lies by Jennifer Miller

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #15: Books I Recommend to Those Who Haven’t Read New Adult and Young Adult | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

