What Do You Honestly Think of the Book You Read?

ramblings keep me sane

When I started this blog my focus was on book reviews but now that it has grown, I want to share some stuff other than book reviews. Ramblings Keep Me sane is essentially about, well, ramblings. It could be book-related ramblings… or not. It’ll be like a discussion post where readers can share their opinion about anything under the sun.

What Do You Honestly Think of the Book You Read?

I am sure we all have experienced this before: someone hates the book we love. I’ve experienced it too many times. And when I write a positive review of a book everyone seems to hate, I can’t help but doubt myself and my judgment of what a good book is. Why does everybody hate the book that seems alright to me? Have I missed something? Is there something wrong with my judgment?

When I post a review on my blog and it seems contradictory to the opinion of most of the people who have read a certain book, I get nervous because I don’t want people to hate on me for loving that book (I’ve seen too many fandom wars and ’re always ugly). That fear doesn’t seem to make sense but hey, this is the internet and people get twice braver and more vicious behind the computer monitor that’s why I’m always careful not to offend anybody. That doesn’t mean I’m trying to please everybody either, I know I can’t really please everybody. What I want is to avoid unnecessary confrontations and arguments.

However, I still write what I honestly think of a book. Or sometimes when I think the book is really horrible and I have nothing nice to say, I just shut my mouth. When I write a 1-3 star review I try to give as constructive a criticism as possible and I do not attack or call the author names. Sure I criticize his or her work but that’s only as far as I go.

Before I post a review, it’s a habit of mine to read what people on Goodreads say about a book and when I see a 4-5 star review, I read it but I stay clear of the 3-1 star reviews. When someone hates the book I love, I don’t usually listen to the reasons why they hate the book because it tends to influence my view of the book and I end up hating it too! I know it sounds crazy but negative views influence me very quickly.

It is also always very intimidating to write a review of a book, knowing there is a possibility that the author of the book might read your review. Even if I write a positive review, it is still unnerving to know that anytime that author can stumble upon my page and read what I think of his or her work. I wonder if they would agree with my thoughts of their work. I also wonder if they would respond to my opinion or not.

I realize how crazy this seems to you. These are the things that I wasn’t aware about until I started book blogging. And this is the first time I admitted them to myself. Ever since I started this journey of sharing to the whole world my opinion of the books I read, it is hard not to feel overwhelmed. There are so many things that could influence you on your writing your review and they’re not always positive influences. Regardless, I still try my best to write an honest review.

Am I the only one with these thoughts or do you feel the same too?

2 thoughts on “What Do You Honestly Think of the Book You Read?

  1. I make it a point to be honest in all my reviews, especially on my blog, but even on Amazon or Goodreads. (Although I stay away from Goodreads). I had a few weeks where I thought bout this a lot, because you don’t want to insult the author and want to keep your friendship going, but if the book didn’t work for you, it didn’t work. Also, I think there are ways of writing a fair book review, and being honest, without being a total jerk.

  2. I don’t think about who is reading my reviews. I just write what I thought about the book. And I don’t read other reviews before I’ve written mine. I think it taints my view, so I stopped reading the opinions of others. Sometimes a book just isn’t a good fit for me. Sometimes, it’s just not well-written. Rare, but it happens. I’ve been pretty lucky in my review books so far. Almost all of the ones I’ve approved for review, I’ve enjoyed or outright loved.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

