Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook

Nobody But UsTitle: Nobody But Us

Author: Kristin Halbrook

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: January 29th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Will

Maybe I’m too late. Maybe Zoe’s dad stole all her fifteen years and taught her to be scared. I’ll undo it. Help her learn to be strong again, and brave. Not that I’m any kind of example, but we can learn together.

When the whole world is after you, sometimes it seems like you can’t run fast enough.

Zoe

Maybe it’ll take Will years to come to terms with being abandoned. Maybe it’ll take forever. I’ll stay with him no matter how long it takes to prove that people don’t always leave, don’t always give up on you.

mythoughts

If I tell you this is a love story of a fifteen-year-old girl and an eighteen-year-old boy, what kind of story would come to your mind? A cliché high school story of shy wallflowers, awkward first kisses, handsome jocks and mean cheerleaders, perhaps? I wish it was just a cliché high school story because the real story of this book is far more sad and depressing but equally beautiful.

Zoe is a fifteen-year-old girl living with only his dad who always beat her. Her mother died when she was younger. Will is an orphan who has a foul temper and he’d often involve himself in fights. When Will turned eighteen they decided to run away, leave everything behind and go to Las Vegas to start a new life.

“Before I knew escape, life was something to be endured, passively. Now I hunger for it.”

When I picked this book I wasn’t really expecting anything. I had no idea that this book is gonna make me cry a river. Let me start with the plot, it was unlike any romance novels I have read out there—and I have read a bunch. For characters in their age group it was unusual for me to read about a novel so sad yet so beautiful. What I usually get when I read about high school kids is first kisses, awkward sex, cute guys, popular but mean queen bees and shy wallflower protagonists. But this book proved to me the power of young, unadulterated love. It proves that you are not too young to love someone so passionately, so fiercely, despite their imperfections and shortcomings.

“Are you laughing at me?” I squawk. I laugh, too, my voice sounds so strained. Will’s laughter picks up even more. “I can’t help it. You make me happy.”

I completely understand where Zoe is coming from. She’s been abused by her dad, the one person that’s supposed to take care of her. But I admire her being strong, and her courage. It is hard to entrust your whole life on one person and run away with him, not sure where you two are gonna go or what lies ahead of you. But I guess love makes you do crazy, outrageous stuff.

“Girls should be strong together. Strong like steel, merry like the tinkling of chimes dancing in the wind.”

Despite his foul temper, I admire Will and his love for Zoe. Not many people find love as great as his love for her.

“He tucks his hands on the back of my head and rests his mouth on my forehead. I close my eyes. “I could stand here forever,” he says. “In this place? This oh-so-classy motel room?” “That’s the thing. It don’t matter where.”

But sometimes I don’t get why Will is so worked up on even the smallest things, he’s got some serious anger management problems. But I guess that’s an irreplaceable part of him and like Zoe, I accept that side of him.

This novel will show you that true love indeed is real. But it isn’t always rainbows and hearts all the time. True love involves sacrifice and it’s hard to keep, especially if the whole world is against you. But tell you this, it is worth fighting for, despite the tears, the pain, the hardship, it is still worth fighting for. I have read a whole lot of romance novels but rarely do I encounter a book that has moved me so much.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

