Sunday Post #3: The Joy of Book-shopping… at last!

sunday post

The past two weeks have been a whirlwind of tidying up my thesis and studying for my finals. But now I can finally say that the semester is over and I have more or less two weeks of freedom, which means two weeks of catching up on the books I’m supposed to read and review. I didn’t expect college life can be this busy. I know I promised you guys a book haul post and I intend to keep that promise.

I’ve been AWOL last September but I’ve been really busy stacking both my book shelves and my virtual shelves. For a couple of months now I’ve been trying to quell my urge to buy bound books because I have the tendency to go gaga when buying ebooks. And with all the unread ebooks I have, I thought it would be a smart move to finish my unread books first before buying new ones.

But last September, National Bookstore had this huge sale and it would be plain stupid to pass. I also got the chance to visit two Powerbooks branches and the Alabang branch of Fully Booked and a Booksale branch near where I live. At first I thought alright I’m gonna buy one maybe two books but I ended with more books than I originally planned.

books keep me sane - september book haul (640x467)

And don’t get me started on the ebook shopping. I swear One-Click Buying is gonna be the end of me.

books keep me sane - beastly alex flinn (577x640)

Beastly by Alex Flinn

I have seen the movie adaptation of Beastly but I haven’t read the book. Basically, Beastly is a modern re-telling of the classic fairytale Beauty and the Beast. I have to confess, I haven’t seen the movie Beauty and the Beast, like, ever but I know the story. Even when I was a child I wasn’t big on fairytales but I’m very excited to read it. I got the book for Php 99.00. The normal price is around Php 300-400 so it was a really good bargain.

books keep me sane - bright shiny morning james frey (590x640)

Bright Shiny Morning by James Frey

I honestly have no idea what this book is about. The blurb written on the back of the book doesn’t say much. It’s a really thick paperback and I don’t know if I’m going to like it, I don’t even know why I bought it in the first place. The original price is Php 299.00 but I got it for only Php 89.75. Doesn’t hurt the budget much.

books keep me sane - heartless alison gaylin (570x640)

Heartless by Alison Gaylin

I love reading romance books, but romance with a mix of murder mystery? I gotta have that book! When I read the blurb of this book I instantly loved it and knew right then that I had to buy it. And it was only Php 76.50 which is a good discount price considering its original price is Php 255.00

books keep me sane - ghost girl love sick tonya hurley (537x640)

Ghostgirl: Lovesick by Tonya Hurley

This book has been on my wishlist for so long now. The book itself is very pretty, I love the cover and the plot is equally interesting. My plan was to buy the hardbound one but I am not really a big fan of hardbound books because they are unnecessarily more expensive and they’re heavy to carry around so I opted for the paperback instead. I got it for only Php 99.00 and the original price is around Php 300-400.00

books keep me sane - artemis fowl the seventh dwarf eoin colfer (480x640)

The Seventh Dwarf by Eoin Colfer

I am a huge fan of the Artemis Fowl series and I thought I have read everything Artemis-related so I was really surprised when I spotted a copy of this book on the shelves of Booksale. Once I saw it I immediately rushed to the cashier to pay for it. Mulch Diggums is one of my favorite characters and this book is about him so there’s no sense not to buy the book. Got it for only Php 17.00, it’s just a very thin paperback, but nevertheless, I’m very excited to read it.

books keep me sane - the kite runner khaled hosseini (529x640)

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I got this from TBD, it’s actually a prize I’ve won in a giveaway. I can’t wait to read this! I’m a huge fan of Hosseini and his works and I’m collecting all his books. I have yet to watch the film adaptation of the book and I’ll be reviewing both the book and the movie so watch out for that.

books keep me sane - stainless longganisa bob ong (480x640)

Stainless Longganisa by Bob Ong

Bob Ong is one of the most well-known local authors and most of my friends have read his books. He writes both fiction and non-fiction books. In Stainless Longganisa he talks about how he became a writer, the ups and downs, ins and out of writing, he also shared some great tips of aspiring writers. It’s the perfect book for me! I also love his humour and his writing style. He’s now one of my favorite local authors and I’m seriously considering collecting all of his books!

So that was pretty much all the bound books I got in the past month. I did get some ebooks too but they’re too many to mention.

I might do another book haul but this time, all about ebooks, hmm we’ll see.

Do you have a Sunday Post? Feel free to link me up on the comment section below.

Follow on Bloglovin

siggie

8 thoughts on “Sunday Post #3: The Joy of Book-shopping… at last!

  1. Omg! I keep forgettingh 2 tell ya but thx! xD I loved confessions of an argey girl nj now im reading the squeal, lol cant spell wahtevs aslo I am reading 10 things we did n i LOVE it!!! thx ❤

  2. oh my gosh! i totally agree about that one click buying button. my wallet hurts every time i get a little too friendly with it. that’s an awesome stack of books. i really want to read beastly myself. happy reading 🙂

    hope you can stop by my StS/Sunday Post.

    -michelle @ Michelle & Leslie’s Book Picks

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

