Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)Title: Shadow and Bone

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release Date: June 5th 2012

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance.

mythoughts

Sometimes I like to be adventurous and daring. And by adventurous and daring I mean picking up a random book without reading the blurb, not knowing what the book is about and what I should expect, and that’s exactly what I did with Shadow and Bone. At that time I just thought, “Blow my mind, Leigh Bardugo, blow my mind.” And blow my mind she did.

Right from the start the story was so gripping I didn’t want to put it down. The fantasy world that Bardugo created is so enticing I want to live in it even if it’s somehow depressing and scary because if the Fold and the vulcras. Oh those vulcras, those hideous monsters! They scare the crap out of me.

Since I didn’t read the blurb, I didn’t know about the Darkling and his bad deeds. I was like Alina, I fell for the Darkling too! I was totally deceived and to think I thought finally Alina found a man that would love her for who she is. But no, the Darkling turns out to be a meanie after all. Note to self: never trust a guy with the word “dark” in his name.

“I’ve been waiting for you a long time, Alina,” he said. “You and I are going to change the world.”

At first I hated Mal for being so dense about Alina’s feelings for him. And when Alina thought Mal really abandoned her, I cried a river because being abandoned by the only person you trust, love and grew up with is, needless to say, awfully painful.

But he made it up to Alina and to me when he said these words:

I’ve risked my life for you. I’ve walked half the length of Ravka for you, and I’d do it again and again and again just to be with you, just to starve with you and freeze with you and hear you complain about hard cheese every day. So don’t tell me we don’t belong together.

And when he said these words I knew he got my heart too…

I love you, Alina, even the part of you that loved him.

Seriously Mal, how can you be so selfless?

The book has colorful and interesting secondary characters too. Like Genya, I love Genya because she is such a great friend to Alina and she’s so sassy. If she were a real person or if I lived in their world, Genya and I would definitely be friends.

There’s just so much feels in this book. I also cried at the closing part of the book because I thought it was going to be the end of Mal and Alina. Okay maybe I knew it wasn’t going to be their end but I kept thinking what if it was and it was such a horrible thought I really cried.

As I’ve said there’s so much feels in this book and a lot of things in Shadow and Bone stirred emotions in me. It may or may not make you cry like me (I’m such a cry-baby, I express my emotions best when I cry, whether it’s happiness or sorrow) but still, be emotionally prepared.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #15: Books I Recommend to Those Who Haven’t Read New Adult and Young Adult | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. Pingback: #ReadingCram End of the Year Read-a-thon 2013: Post a Review Challenge + Day 10 Updates | Books Keep Me Sane

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorite: Grisha Trilogy (Books 1&2) | Forever Y.A.

  4. So, the blurb didn’t draw me in at all. I feel like I couldn’t pronounce any of the names, but your backing of the great fantasy world created here makes me want to read it so I can learn something from it. I’m on a mission with my own YA fantasy, so I’ll definitely have to look into this. Thanks!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

