Confessions of An Angry Girl by Louise Rozett

Confessions of an Angry Girl (Confessions, #1)Title: Confessions of An Angry Girl

Author: Louise Rozett

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: August 28, 2012

Source: bought

Format: ebook

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Rose Zarelli, self-proclaimed word geek and angry girl, has some confessions to make…

1. I’m livid all the time. Why? My dad died. My mom barely talks. My brother abandoned us. I think I’m allowed to be irate, don’t you?

2. I make people furious regularly. Want an example? I kissed Jamie Forta, a badass guy who might be dating a cheerleader. She is now enraged and out for blood. Mine.

3. High school might as well be Mars. My best friend has been replaced by an alien, and I see red all the time. (Mars is red and “seeing red” means being angry—get it?)

Here are some other vocab words that describe my life: Inadequate. Insufferable. Intolerable.

(Don’t know what they mean? Look them up yourself.)

(Sorry. That was rude.)

mythoughts

At first glance Confessions of an Angry Girl is just another high school tale. But there’s a grain of truth in this novel. If you’ve been to high school, chances are you’ve experienced some of the things that happened in this book.

I love how none of the characters are perfect, which makes the story more relatable. My favorite character is Rose but there are times when I want to smack her in the head, especially when he treats Robert like crap. I understand her annoyance with Robert but I completely understand Robert too and how much he likes Rose.

I contemplate asking Robert to take me home, but I really don’t want to be alone in the car with him and the condoms. It’s not like I think they’re going to jump out of the glove compartment and do something, but I just don’t want to be around them any more than I have to.

Unlike others, I didn’t really like Jamie. I don’t hate him, hate is very strong word but I don’t like him either. I don’t understand why he  won’t stand up for Rose when he knows what Regina is capable of doing. I’m sorry but for me he is a wuss.

Every high school tale is not complete without a bitchy queen bee, and in this novel, Regina is the queen bee and guess what her extracurricular activity is– yep that’s right, cheer leading! If I were Rose I’d claw her eyeballs out with my long finger nails and feed it to the vultures. Okay maybe that was a little harsh but hey, she’s a meanie!

Aside from the characters, what made me love Confessions of an Angry Girl is the fact that it talks about the hardships of being a teen, especially sex, drinking, peer pressure, among others.

Maybe it’s me. Maybe I don’t know how to have fun. Tracy always says I need to loosen up. But I don’t want to take my clothes off in front of half the school, and I don’t want to have a funnel full of vodka jammed down my throat. I don’t want demonic cheerleaders making me do awful things, and I don’t want a jock boyfriend who pressures me into having sex and might be cheating on me.

I’m kind of disappointed with the ending but despite that, I still love this book mainly because it’s very relatable. If you’re like Rose and you’re on the same predicament with her, then know that you’re not alone and it’s okay to not do what everybody does sometimes. It’s okay to be different if that’s what makes you happy.

I can’t wait to read the second book to the series, Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend.

siggie

 

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Confessions of An Angry Girl by Louise Rozett

  1. I think a voice that strong is compelling enough to read in itself. I get annoyed with angry characters sometimes, but if the voice and circumstances are strong enough, I can be forgiving. This sounds like one of the books I would be able to handle.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

