Musing Mondays | July 29, 2013

musingmonday

MUSING MONDAYS… is a weekly event where MizB will ask a book/reading-related question, and you answer with your own thoughts on the topic.

First of all, Happy Monday to all of you guys 🙂

Today I am going to muse about Paperback VS Hardcover.

I have both paperbacks and hardcovers in my book shelf but I only buy hardcover when I can’t find a paperback edition of a book or if I can’t wait for the paperback to be released.

Personally, I perfer the paperback to hardcover. When I read a book, I tend to bring my book with me everywhere I go and the paperback books make it more convenient. And they are cheaper too. I don’t see why I have to pay for a higher cost if I buy a hardcover when I can get the same book on a lower price when I buy a paperback.

Hardcovers are great too, it’s more durable than paperback and they’re more often printed on acid-free paper. But on the downside, it weights more. I remember in high school I borrowed a hardcover copy of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix from our school library and I was carrying it everywhere I go and it was so heavy!

How about you, which do you prefer? Hardcover or paperback?

baa71-pinkbird

By the way guys, Trail of the Chupacabra: An Avery Bartholomew Pendleton Misadventure is free on Amazon for a limited time.

It’s a great and funny read so please give it a try some time.

The Chupacabra: A Borderline Crazy Tale of Coyotes, Cash and Cartel

My review // Buy on Amazon

Trail of the Chupacabra: An Avery Bartholomew Pendleton Misadventure

My review // Buy on Amazon (FREE for a limited time)

I can’t wait fir the third book to the trilogy! 😉

18 thoughts on “Musing Mondays | July 29, 2013

  1. I definitely prefer paperbacks because they are cheaper. Although, my friends all prefer hardcovers because, like you said, they are more durable. But I think that the paperbacks are alright just as long as you take care of them. And basically, that’s what I do – I really take good care of them. 😉
    As for my collection, I really like uniformity. If I bought a book from a series in paperback, then I’ll continue buying the other books in paperbacks as well. 🙂

    • Same goes for me but when it comes to collecting a series, it’s ok for me if one is hardbound and the others are in paperback but most of the time I always choose the paperback 😀

  2. I prefer paperbacks too – and because of the weight. Like you, I always carry a book with me (we are true readers, we are!) and feel a sense of relief when the book I am currently reading is lighter. Also, paperbacks tend to be smaller and thus are easier to fit into my bag 🙂

  3. Hardcovers seem to last better when I’m taking them everywhere, like to the store, the beach, the whatever. But I love the mallebility of a paperback. I don’t know if I could choose! But my default is paperback 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

