MOVIE REVIEW: Warm Bodies

https://i0.wp.com/www.thebuzzmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/warm-bodies-poster.jpgTitle: Warm Bodies

Director: Jonathan Levin

Genre: Comedy/Horror/Romance

Release Date: January 31, 2013 (PH)

*I have decided that from time to time I will do a review of books that are turned into movies/series. Hope you like it!

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

After R (a highly unusual zombie) saves Julie from an attack, the two form a relationship that sets in motion a sequence of events that might transform the entire lifeless world.

mythoughts

I have heard great things about Warm Bodies so I was very intrigued by it. When I found out there was a movie adaptation, I decided to read the book first before watching the movie. But an unexpected turn happened.

A friend invited me to her house for a movie and I didn’t think we’d be watching Warm Bodies and of course I couldn’t just say, “Wait, let’s not watch this yet because I haven’t read the book”, so I just shut up and watched.

What made me interested with Warm Bodies (both book and movie) is the plot. We’re used to zombies being portrayed the bad guys but who would have thought zombies can fall in love too? In my opinion, the plot is a breath of fresh air, and it’s cute too! It’s also very funny, it had me laughing despite the scary faces of the zombies. The fact that Nicholas Hoult can still be hot despite being a zombie is a plus too. But what I really love the most about the movie is the soundtrack. I grew up listening to 80s songs and hearing my favorite songs being used in a movie is a great feeling. Another movie I really like because of the soundtrack is Megamind but that topic is for another review.

We often say that love makes us human, well in this movie it makes as human, literally. After watching the movie I realized some things we take for granted like a beating heart, the ability to breathe, to feel pain and mostly, to be alive. When a trivial thing goes wrong we silently wish to just die because we’re sick of the world. But do we really mean that? In this movie the undead teaches us the value of life, to remind us that living is a bliss we should enjoy.

I am very excited to read the book. I know the book is bound to be different from the movie and I’m okay with that. After all, it’s inevitable.

If you’re looking for a love story with an unexpected twist and a hot zombie (*cough* Nicholas Hoult) then this movie is for you.

siggie

13 thoughts on “MOVIE REVIEW: Warm Bodies

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post #7: Want some popcorn? | Books Keep Me Sane

    • When I read a book-turned-movie I always mentally prepare myself for the changes the may occur in the plot line. πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to grab a copy of the book and read it ❀

  2. Ooooh I haven’t watched the movie because I liked the book! Although I wasn’t happy with the unexplained magical ending… would be glad to hear your thoughts on the book!

  3. I love this book and movie! The movie was different from the book, yeah, but it didn’t really change any plot points unnecessarily and I love Nicholas Hoult so I really don’t think I could have hated it anyway, haha. πŸ˜€ Except in the book he has a red tie instead of a hoodie . . I missed the tie! xD

    • When a book is made into a movie some plot changes is really unavoidable but I’m glad to hear it didn’t stray too far from the book. I’m very excited to read the book! πŸ˜€ I didn’t know about the tie until now, and I think both the hoodie and the tie suits R really well. πŸ˜€

  4. Small world. I just watched this last night. I liked it. It was cute but not great. I don’t like gore, so the approach to the zombies was just right for me. I adored R’s inner monologue. β€œEw. Stop. Don’t pick at it. You’re making it worse. Just stop. Gross.” I like to think the Boneys were people who had no one in life, so that they had no one to remind them of their humanity when they were zombies. It was only as the zombies remembered those they loved, that their hearts began to beat again. It was a wonderful analogy about what makes life worth living and what makes us human.

    • I don’t like gore much too but it was easy for me to ignore it because my attention was drawn to the cuteness of the story. LOL. I felt bad when they annihilated the Boneys but maybe you’re right, maybe they’ve gone too far to change and it’s sad but oh well that’s life (or death) haha
      πŸ˜€

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

