Musing Mondays | July 22, 2013

musingmonday

MUSING MONDAYS… is a weekly event where MizB will ask a book/reading-related question, and you answer with your own thoughts on the topic.

Do you shop for books/ebooks at Amazon? Because I do. Well, not really shop like, buy books more like, I “hunt” for free ebooks on Amazon.

This morning I went on a “free shopping spree” again and downloaded way too many books than I could read. What can I say, when a book is free I just HAVE to downloaded it because maybe, just maybe I can find the time to read them, which won’t happen anytime soon because my TBR pile is monstrous as it is without adding the random books I’ve downloaded on Amazon.

Right now I have 40+ ebooks in my Kindle archive on my phone, some of them I’ve won in giveaways, some gifted, but most of them I’ve downloaded for free on Amazon.

I have a serious case of book hoarding, whether it’s physical books or ebooks and I don’t know how to stop it. Are you like this too or am I alone?

32 thoughts on “Musing Mondays | July 22, 2013

  1. I don’t like ebooks as much as physical books so I’ll only read them when I really want a book or I’m going on vacation. Otherwise I’m sure I’d be the same way!

  2. Ok, I’m feeling slightly better after reading your post, because I have nearly 200 ebooks on my iPad and like you, whenever I see a free book… download! And I don’t even want to get into the number of paperbacks that I have. =/

    Great blog you have! New follower =) oh, and thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. OMG! I’m the same way you are about freebies. I get all of the ones I think I might be interested in but I don’t think I’m going to live long enough to read them. LOL Just like I was with physical books – I’m a book hoarder with e-books too (I nearly did my musing on this subject too!)

  4. I love me some freebies. I’ve read some pretty good books that were Amazon freebies. Some I turned around and bought the sequel or another book by the author. So I guess enticing people with freebies works. I really have too many on my Kindle to ever read all of them. It’s so easy to just add more. Just a little click of the mouse and bingo! New book. They’re like potato chips. You can’t download just one!

  5. I’m exactly the same, I have cut down on the free ebooks as often they’re not great. I love the daily deal bargains & kindle sales. At the moment I’m only getting ones from my wishlist as I have so many books & ebooks to read.

  6. I know! I am so guilty of that. They just come up when you search other books and you click on them and they sound SO interesting, so you HAVE to download them. Of course.

  7. I downloaded a few free ones when I first got my Kindle, but I found they usually weren’t the best, so that kind of turned me off doing that. I am sure there are a lot of great ones that you can get free though, you just have to figure out which ones they are.

    • Well yes, I notice that too but when there are books that I’m dying to read yet they’re too expenive for me, then I just wait until the price drops to .99 cents or become free 😀

  8. I also ‘shop’ for free ebooks on Amazon, though, like you, I have far too many books waiting to be read as it is. So I try and make sure I only download books that I am genuinely interested in – not just every book which is free (after all, my time is not free and I will need to use some to actually read the book). I have found that looking for free Kindle books has made me a lot more open to other genres and I now read much more widely than I did before.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

