Musing Mondays | July 15, 2013

musingmonday

MUSING MONDAYS… is a weekly event where MizB will ask a book/reading-related question, and you answer with your own thoughts on the topic.

Happy Monday everyone! This week I’m going to muse about one of my reading habits. I didn’t develop this habit of mine until I began blogging.

Before I started blogging, when I finish a book, I don’t usually write a review and just go pick another book to read. But since I started running this blog, of course I have to write reviews, right? But sometimes I feel lazy and instead of writing a review, I go read the next book instead. And because of this habit, I now have to write eight reviews. Yesterday I finished writing my review of Confessions of an Angry Girl and right now I’m working on my review of Warm Bodies (the movie, not the book).

And I also got some galleys from Netgalley. One of which is Demigods and Monsters Expanded Edition by Rick Riordan. I’m a big fan of Riordan’s books and I was really happy to have my galley request approved. This also means more reviews to write!

I love reading and writing about the books I read, that’ why I made this blog but there are just days when I don’t feel like writing and just go on a boo binging.

I really hope I can finish writing all my eight reviews before the month ends.

How about you, what are your reading habits? Leave me a comment and also, the link to your Musing Monday post.

21 thoughts on “Musing Mondays | July 15, 2013

    • That’s me too! Sometimes it’s hard to catch up on my reviews and the books I read.. like right now, i have tons of unread books in my Kindle yet i still request ARCs from Netgalley! πŸ˜€

  1. I try and write my reviews before I start my next book, but sometimes that doesn’t happen (like right nw, for instance). I like to write reviews as quickly as possible, otherwise I forget things about the book, and my review just isn’t what I want it to be D:

  2. Wow – i can totally relate here. As soon as I finish the book, I’m off to the next and at first I was very studious of keeping up with everything, but like you I have so many exciting books to read, I’m just like I’ll do that over the weekend and let’s get reading! Well now myself, I have at least 4-5 reviews to do (pending) – now a few can’t be published per the ARC asking until the book actually goes to print – so i have time, but still i know better – I’ve got to get in better blogging habits!!

    • the hardest part of being lazy when it comes to writing a review is when the ARC is about to get published and you just have to write the review even when you don’t feel like it.. but i always make sure that the quality of my review is great before i post it, after all, all the great books deserve great reviews! happy reading! πŸ˜€

    • totally agree with you on both counts.. I am such a procratinator – but at the same time agree the review has to be as great as the book, so I can let that suffer – I do pride myself on that too! Happy Reading back!

  3. Gotta keep up on those book reviews. I try to give it was few days because I want to give my thoughts about the book time to jell but if I wait too long then I end up forgetting things. I should keep better notes.

    And I see I wasn’t the only one that went ahead with a Musing post without checking MizB’s site first. She faked us all out by actually asking a specific question this week!

    (Psst! Your guest post is up on my blog if you want to go see it.)

    • When I read a book I keep notes of the things i like and don’t like as I read along, that way when the time comes for me to review the book, I wont forget what to write πŸ˜€ it really works for me πŸ˜€

      ooh I’m going to check it out πŸ™‚

  4. OMG! Don’t even get me started on being lazy and putting off writing a review to pick up another book to read. It’s my worst bad habit ever! I’m 46 books behind and I even had to make a separate ‘to-review’ bookshelf on my Goodreads account just to try to keep track.

    It;s annoying really, but I’m trying to catch up. One of these days, I’ll have to dedicate a whole week of just writing reviews and stop myself from picking up a book before I’m caught up, ha ha! I don’t know when that will be…I’m just saying I have to do it.

    Andrea K. @ Books and Bindings
    Monday Madness
    Musing Mondays

  5. I try to write the review right away but sometimes, like this week I didn’t have time and like you am scrambling to write them after the fact. I think I will go back to writing them as soon as I’m finished reading. Happy writing!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

