Musing Mondays | June 24, 2013

musingmonday

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

As much as we’d like to curl up in bed and read all day, we all know that at some point we have to face life outside the books we read. And it’s often dull and boring that we wish we’re inside our favorite novels slaying dragons and saving the world. I am no different. But we have no choice but to live life outside our own fantasy.

For many of us, school just ended and summer just started. For me, it’s the opposite. I am now a college sophomore, I’m taking up Bachelor of Science in Information Technology and it’s my goal to finish college before 20. BSIT is a 4-year course and needless to say, you can spend more years in college if you fail and you have to re-take your failed subjects.

“Before 20? But that’s too early to finish college!”, you might say.

The Philippines is the last country in Asia and one of only three countries worldwide (the other two being Angola and Djibouti) with a 10-year pre-university cycle.

source: phil gov website

That means I didn’t go through middle school, started high school when I was 12 and finished at age 15.

And I’m also wondering why school has to start in June and not September, just like all the other countries. But I’m glad because we don’t spend summer a school! (Unless you have to take up summer class for failed subects)

And because of this whole school mess, most of my time is spent in university or studying or doing homeworks. My reading pace might slow down and I just realized today that I am behind schedule in posting reviews in this blog. Still, I will do my best to keep this blog updated, I will try to post at least one review per week. This coming July, I will be participating in blog tours and I’m really excited about it! There are those  authors whom I promised to review their books! Don’t despair (yet) I will read and review them although I apologize in advance if it would be a little later (3-4 weeks maybe). I have 20+ books in my Top TBR shelf in Goodreads and I have no choice but to set those books aside and make way for those books I have to review as soon as possible. This doesn’t mean that I only feel “obligated” to review them and not really want to review them. Of course, I do want to read them! It’s just that I am busy at the moment and can’t get to them right away.

Right now I am typing this post and at the same time doing my Object-Oriented Programming homework and mind you, multitasking is not my strongest suit and my lids are threatening to close now. It’s almost 12 midnight.

How’s summer for you so far? I spent my summer reading books and surfinig the net and sleeping and eating, basically being a Snorlax (except Snorlax doesn’t read). Haha!

10 thoughts on “Musing Mondays | June 24, 2013

  1. Our summer in Canada is from June to August/early September and our school starts in September so just like you guys in the Philippines, we don’t go to school in the summer as well. 🙂 I’m not a hundred percent sure but I think most countries try to give students their break in the summer. It’s probably different in each country depending when their summer is (like December to February is summer in Australia).

    • summer is supposed to be for having fun and taking a break from school so it’s nice to not have school in summer 😀 i find it unusual that australia’s summer is in december haha 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

