REVIEW: Gossip Girl: Psycho Killer by Cecily von Ziegesar

psycho killer books keep me saneTitle: Psycho Killer

Author: Cecily von Ziegesar

Genre: Young Adult

Purchase: Amazon

myratingstar_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Welcome to New York City’s Upper East Side, where my friends and I live, go to school, play, and sleep-sometimes with each other. It’s a luxe life, but someone’s got to live it . . . until they die.

So begins Gossip Girl, Psycho Killer, a re-imagined and expanded slasher edition of the first groundbreaking Gossip Girl novel, featuring all new grisly scenes and over-the-top gore by #1 New York Times bestselling author Cecily von Ziegesar.

Just as in the original story, Serena returns from boarding school hoping to make amends with her BFF Blair Waldorf–things just haven’t been the same since Nate Archibald came between them. But here’s where our dark tale takes a turn: Serena decides that the only way for her to make things right with Blair is to eliminate Nate. If that means killing him, well, c’est la vie. Her attempted murder doesn’t go unnoticed by Blair, however, who isn’t about to let Serena kill whoever she wants-not when there’s Cyrus Rose and Chuck Bass and Titi Coates and everyone else who’s ever irritated Blair to get rid of first . . . .

American Psycho‘s Patrick Bateman has met his match in Manhattan’s newest, most fabulous trendsetting serial killers, Blair Waldorf and Serena van der Woodsen.

mythoughts

I honestly don’t know what to think of Psycho Killer.  The characters are so messed up in the head, it didn’t bother them that people around them are dying, like killing spree is as natural occurrence as rain. If it were me who spotted a bloody body in the dump, I wouldn’t get my camera and be like, “A dead body! Perfect for my school project!” No. I’d be like, “Holy molly! Ugh gross! Call an ambulance people.” They really lived up to the title of the book.

I wish the author would justify more why everybody wants to kill everybody. I mean, I thought there would be some kind of psychoanalysis, or a deeper venture into the minds of the characters. I don’t know much about the slasher genre but I’ve always thought there is more reason why people go around killing everybody than meets the eye.

It’s also a mystery for me that a lot of people have died and the characters in the book are just cool about it like it’s no big deal. It’s a wonder it didn’t stir quite a commotion in the book.

Just because you mentioned rotten flesh, blood, corpse, disembowelment and dismembering a few times in a chapter doesn’t make the atmosphere of the book terrifying. The book is trying too hard to be that horrifying, suspense-packed slasher novel but fails.

I had high expectation for this book and I’m disappointed at how it turned out. If you’re into slasher novels you might want to give this a try but don’t expect too much.

siggie

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Gossip Girl: Psycho Killer by Cecily von Ziegesar

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post #8: It Had To Be Flappy Bird | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. I found your blog on Candy threads, and I stumbled upon this. I personally have read all the Gossip Girl books since I collected them for four years (I blame the fact that the series have thirteen books, and the fact that I was and always am broke – ugh. ;P), and I wasn’t planning to purchase this book, but I did just last year. When I read this, I immediately found it funny (especially the part where Serena wanted to kill Nate, with the equation and all, lol), and it was just so different from the original book. They were so crazy here, even though they already were in the original book, but I don’t know, I just didn’t think that this was supposed to be horrifying, even terrifying at all. I think the twists they made for this book to turn into a slasher one, was to be rather comical. It’s just my opinion, though. But yeah, maybe if you read the first book of the original version, maybe you’d find this funny too. 😉
    Anyway, I love your blog, and I’m happy to have found it. 😉

    xoxo
    Myka
    http://msdearlady.blogspot.com/

    • It crossed my mind too but I dunno, it’s just not in my nature to appreciate the slasher genre. I’m hemophobic (I have irrational fear of blood and fory things) so I really can’t find it comical when someone goes on a killing spree oh but maybe it’s just me. 🙂 Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it. 🙂

  3. Wow! I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that slasher novels exist. After all, we have slasher movies. And yet I wasn’t aware.

    I’m not a big fan of slasher movies, although sometimes the first in a series has an interesting enough premise. Gossip Girl Psycho Killer certainly doesn’t sound like a book that would turn me onto the genre.

    The book sounds pretty tasteless. How did you even survive reading it? 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

