Dracula: The TV Adaptation

Dracula comes to London, posing as an American entrepreneur who wants to bring modern science to the Victorian city. In reality, Dracula seeks revenge on those who betrayed him centuries earlier. As Dracula’s plans move toward fruition, he falls hopelessly in love with a woman who may be a reincarnation of his deceased wife.

A TV adaptation of Dracula, uh-huh.

I honestly don’t know what to think of this news. I’m not gonna pretend I know a lot of stuff about Dracula except he’s probably the most famous vampire and he sucks blood.

I have read Dracula by Bram Stoker but it was a long time ago and I have terrible memory.

I have trouble seeing him as a lovesick puppy (or bat or whatever) in this TV adaptation. But it doesn’t take a genius to figure out that Dracula is not the kind of character whose eyes pop cartoon eyes at the sight of a woman. To me he’s this vicious, terrifying, blood-sucking creature of the night.

When I was a kid, I was terrified of vampires. I remember watching Blade when I was little and it gave me nightmares every night. Now, when I think of vampires the first thing that comes to my mind is a sappy Adonis with overgrown canine teeth and I don’t think it’s romantic. Blame Twilight and its thousands of rip-offs.

I can’t help thinking they added the romance part to compete with Twilight and Vampire Diaries and their rip-offs. Haven’t they had enough of sappy, over-romantic vampires stories? Apparently not.

Dracula was the only vampire I liked because he’s a true vampire. Vicious, terrifying, blood-sucking. AND THEN THIS HAPPENED.

However, I told myself not to judge a book by its cover, or a TV series by its trailer, for that matter. I decided I will give this a chance to be fair to my idol vampire.

I gotta hand it to NBC though. They did a great job in casting Jonathan Rhys Meyer as Count Dracula. Daaaayum! He’s gorgeous.

How about you, what do you think of this TV adaptation of Dracula? Are you looking forward to it, love it, hate it? Share your thoughts! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Dracula: The TV Adaptation

  1. Pingback: Razor Blade Smile 1998 - about coffin shaped weapon closets Mean Goblin magazine

  2. When someone writes an post he/she maintains the image of a user in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    Therefore that’s why this post is outstdanding. Thanks!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

