REVIEW: Alphas by Lisi Harrison

alphas books keep me saneTitle: Alphas

Author: Lisi Harrison

Genre: Young Adult

Purchase: Amazon
myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

At OCD the losers are tormented.
At Alpha Academy, they’re sent home.
Skye Hamilton has scored an invitation to the ultra-exclusive Alphas-only boarding school where beta is spelled LBR . What happens when the country’s best, brightest, and hawtest begin clawing and scratching their way to the top?
mythoughts
I can’t help comparing the book to the Clique series, also by the same author, but this is better, I liked the idea of having an academy in some private island to train future alphas. The academy is so futuristic this looks like a sci-fi chick lit book.

Of all the characters in the book, my favorite was Charlie, she was the only decent character who’s not stuck up or bitchy and she’s really down to earth,Charlie is the only girl that’s rooted to reality in all of them.

Skye has big talents with big ego and it hinders her from discovering her full potential. And then there’s Skye’s annoying expression, “Ohmuhgud”. Is the good old “oh my god” not enough. To me her expression sounds like she’s swallowed her teeth. It’s not cool. And then there are those hypenated words like giggle-shouted, lip-kiss, serious-leh, etc which was so annoying. Aren’t simple words not enough?

Allie is a germophobe and a narcissistic bitch. It annoys me to think that there are people like her that think pretty girls should get special privilleges. I want to slap reality check hard on her poreless, blemish-free face. Girl you’re no unique unique snowflake so build a bridge and get over it.

So obviously I am a little biased when it comes to Charlie but hey I have reasons why she is my favorite character. I think she is the only girl in the whole Alpha Academy who wanted to get in to hone her full potential and not just for the prestige and I think that she’s the only who is not a fake.

The Alpha Academy is more austere and unforgiving than the real world, everyone is expected to be at their best all the time, always striving for perfection which is stupid because nobody is perfect and it doesn’t look like a place of learning to me because the teachers are too mean to the girls and they don’t encourage the girls when they’re having dificulties with their classes, it’s almost like they bully the students. It looks more like Alpha Academy is a reality show than real life.

I honestly don’t understand the concept of being an alpha, to me it is just being a prima donna and attention whore. I don’t understand the need to be on top of it all. Let’s face it, you can never be the best of all for all eternity and I don’t think there’s the need. I mean, I am not saying that you should do your very best, what I mean is you should do your best for yourself rather than do it to out-best other people. We should aim to be better instead of aiming to be the best because the best gets out-bested but the better ones get even better.

The thing about Lisi Harrison is that she loves cliffhangers as much as I hate them. The book ended without solving the conflict of the story. While ending a story in a cliffhanger is a good tactic to make readers buy the next book, it doesn’t do well for the story. If you’re the one who doesn’t mind cliffhangers, Alphas is for you.

siggie

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

